7th Annual KYtrackXC.com Indoor Boys Athletes of the Year



KYtrackXC.com is pleased to present the 7th Annual KYtrackXC.com Indoor Boys Athletes of the Year. 


Boys Sprints - Jaz Hayes (Central)

This junior opened up his indoor season in January at the Wildcat Classic with a victory in the 400m Dash.  His winning time of 49.88 stands out by itself as it is the #2 time over the last fifteen years indoors for 400 meters just .01 off #1.  He also had an individual victory in the 55m Dash at the Mason-Dixon Games with a 6.55 which was good enough to lead the state for the 2012 season. He also established a new best time in the 60m Dash with a 7.09 at the Indiana Track Club High School Open.  


Boys Distance - Jacob Thomson (Holy Cross)

This junior further continued his development as an elite runner this past winter after qualifying for Foot Locker Nationals during cross country season.  He opened up indoor with a win at the Wildcat Classic in January in the Two Mile Run with a time of 9:29.65.  He followed that up with a 4:17/1:58 at the Indiana Track Club meet on February 11th.  He rolled to a second place finish at the national level UK High School Invitational in the One Mile Run with a 4:15.24 which converts to a 4:13.76 a four second PR from 2011.  He finished indoor off with a 4:00.40 in the 1500m Run at the Mason-Dixon Games just .03 off the meet record set by 2006 KYtrackXC.com Indoor Distance Runner of the Year Michael Eaton. His Indoor Mile/Two Mile rank 3rd and 5th in Kentucky over the last fifteen years.


Boys Field Event - Tyler Bray (Lloyd Memorial)

This senior was the top jumper in Kentucky during indoor season finishing with the best mark in the High Jump and Long Jump.  He competed only at the US Bank Track Complex in Mason County during indoor as he was also the leading scorer for the Lloyd Memorial basketball team this past winter.  He jumped 6-08 on February 18th (video.)  That jump also tied him with 2006 KYtrackXC.com Indoor Field Event Athlete of the Year Steve Jenkins for the #1 mark in the High Jump during indoor in Kentucky over the last fifteen years    He also set a new personal best in the long jump during indoor with a leap of 21-08 bettering his previous mark by one foot and a half inch.


Past Winners


Boys Sprints

2011 - John Giddens, Male

2010 - Marcus Winstead, Owensboro

2009 - Ben Mason, Lafayette

2008 - Justin Green, Male & Gerry Cooper, duPont Manual

2007 - Ronald Barlow, Eastern

2006 - Ken Vereen, Tates Creek


Boys Distance

2011 - Andrew Stewart, North Hardin

2010 - Ryan Eaton, Greenwood

2009 - Joe Mallek, Oldham County

2008 - Trent Halasek, Scott County

2007 - Brian Long, St. Xavier

2006 - Michael Eaton, Greenwood


Boys Field Event

2011 - Michael Patterson, Male

2010 - Ryan Ramsey, St. Xavier

2009 - Cameron Frazier, Daviess County

2008 - Adam Hobson, Henderson County

2007 - Chrys Jones, Mercer County

2006 - Steven Jenkins, Trinity