Gatorland Preview

September 27th:  Gatorland Run Preview


Thirty-six teams (over 1000 runners) have entered this year’s Gatorland Run at Phil Moore Park, hosted by Greenwood High School.  Two undefeated runners will square off in the Boys Varsity race:  Ryan Eaton (Greenwood) and James Maglasang (St. Mary).  Eaton, the number one ranked runner in AAA, won the Trinity Invitational last week with a PR of 15:32.  He and Maglasang are the remaining two undefeated runners in Kentucky Cross Country.  Coach Chuck Gullo of St. Mary said, “James is ready for the challenge to run against Ryan.”   Additionally, this race will include 2nd ranked Justin House of Apollo, 5th ranked Landon Taylor of Daviess Co, Steve Mize of Male, Evan Ehrenheim and Wes Russelberg of Daviess Co.  The Boys Varsity Race, starting at 11:00am, will feature several top ranked teams in the state, including number 1 ranked Daviess Co, 5th ranked Greenwood, and 7th ranked Apollo in AAA.  Owensboro Catholic (7th ranked) and Green County (10th ranked) in Boys A will also participate in the race.


The Girls race, beginning at 11:30am, features AAA 4th ranked Daviess County, AAA 8th ranked Bowling Green, and AA 8th ranked Green Co.  Individually, Maggie Mattingly (3rd ranked AAA) of John Hardin, Elizabeth Miller (5th ranked AAA) of Daviess Co., Brianne Porter (8th ranked AA) of Muhlenberg South, Megan Pitts (19th ranked AA) of Franklin Simpson, and Bowling Green’s Alexandra Watts (ranked 20th in AAA) will be among the many athletes competing for the first place award at this year’s Gatorland Run. 


The races open at 9:30 with the Boys Elementary run and proceeds as 9:50 Girls Elementary, 10:10 Boys Middle School, 10:30 Girls Middle School, 11:00 Boys Varsity, 11:30 Girls Varsity, 12:00 Boys JV, and 12:30 Girls JV.  The awards are at 1:15.  Team awards range from the top 3 in the Elementary, Middle School, and JV races to top 5 in the Varsity competitions.  Individual awards:  Top 20-50 receive shirts and medals to the top 3 (Elementary, Middle School, and JV) and top 10 in the Varsity competitions.