Lindsey Wilson Athletes Earn NAIA Honors

JOHNSON CITY, Tenn. - Four Lindsey Wilson student-athletes earned NAIA All-American honors on the third and final day of the NAIA Indoor Track & Field National Championships on Saturday at the David E. Walker Track at Gentry Field.

John-Paul Williamson, Dante Johnson, Kimberley Stevens, and Anthony Thompson each earned NAIA All-American honors on Saturday. They joined Ben Graham, who recorded a third-place finish in the 3,000 meter race walk on Friday afternoon, as All-Americans

Williamson, who finished 12th overall in the one mile run on Friday, raced his way to a fifth-place finish out of 14 student-athletes in the 3,000 meter run on Saturday afternoon. In the process, Williamson ran a personal-best time of 8:32.71 and scored four team points for Lindsey Wilson.

It is the second time that Williamson has earned indoor NAIA All-American honors. He also garnered the honor with a fifth-place finish in the one mile run at the 2014 NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championships.  

Johnson garnered the sixth-fastest time in the final of the 60 meter hurdles with a time of 8.28. It was the second-straight day that Johnson, who recorded a time of 8.29 in his qualifying heat on Friday, set a new program record. Johnson's performance netted three team points.

Stevens, the lone competitor from the women's program, placed seventh out of 22 competitors in the triple jump with a hop, skip and jump of 11.53 meters.

It was the third-consecutive year that Stevens competed in the triple jump at the NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championships. She finished 22nd at the 2014 championships and 15th in 2015.

Thompson, who made his first appearance at the NAIA Indoor Track & Field Championships, jumped his way to a seventh-place finish in a field of 20 student-athletes with a distance of 14.39 meters in the men's triple jump. His performance earned the men's team two points.

The Lindsey Wilson men's team finished in 20th out of 57 teams with 15 total points.

The Lindsey Wilson women's team came in 47th out of 52 teams with two points that were earned by Stevens.

Indiana Tech won the men's team championship with 105 total points, and Wayland Baptist (Texas) captured the women's team title with 72 points.