Region 7 AAA Recap: Madison Central-Pulaski County Showdown






Pulaski County and Madison Central have battled each other all season, and it was no different in the regional race. Pulaski’s Mason Blevins led the pack early, finishing the first mile at 5:30, just ahead of Madison’s Brennan Fields (5:31) and North Laurel’s Scout Bundy (5:32). By the time runners circled the lake at Wayne’s scenic course, Fields had forged ahead of Blevins, followed by the Indians’ Mason Crump, Dalton Walden of Whitley County and Bundy. With 600 meters to go, the top three remained the same, as Fields led the way with Blevins and Crump not far behind. 
Fields treated himself to an individual championship on his birthday with a time of 16:22.67, with Blevins second at 16:44.03 and Crump third at 16:49.86. The Indians took the team title with 24 points, and the Pulaski Maroons were runner-up with 48. Other teams qualifying for the KHSAA State Meet were West Jessamine (third, 101 points), North Laurel (fourth, 111), and East Jessamine (fifth, 144).
Individuals qualifying for state were Whitley’s Walden, Jordan Carrington  and Spencer Brainard of Southwestern, South Laurel’s Trey Valentine, and Corey Hornsby of Harlan County.
Results were similar on the girls’ side, with Central and Pulaski at the top of the heap. Alyssa Hyden and Devin Mayfield of the Lady Maroons came smoking out of the gate, running one-two at the one-mile mark, followed closely by Lady Indian Ivanna Sabino, and this top trio was only separated by 3 seconds. The results were the same leading into the second mile, but Sabino made her move with 600 meters to go, passing Mayfield, with Sydney McWhorter of South Laurel close behind.
Hyden was regional champion at 19:51.70, with Sabino at her heels in second at 19:55.63. Mayfield (third, 20:26.07) and McWhorter (fourth, 20:33) came next. Madison Central dominated the top ten, with five of the top finishers to take the regional crown with 28 points. The Lady Maroons came in second at 54, and South Laurel (78) placed third to qualify for state.
Individual qualifiers were Lincoln County’s Morgan Gourley, Kaitlyn Stittums of Harlan County, Ashley Phelps of Southwestern, West Jessamine’s Allison Lyon, and Sydney King of North Laurel.